My BEST Runs Latest Results
Seoul International Marathon

Sunday March 16th, 2025
Seoul, Korea
Distance: Marathon · 10K
Offical Race Web Site

The only marathon hosted in the heart of the Korean capital. Seoul marathon is the oldest marathon race hosted in Asia andis one of the fastestmarathon in the world.

First held in 1931, Seoul marathon is the oldest marathon event
continuously held in Asia, and the second oldest in the world following
the Boston Marathon.

It embodies modern history of Korea, also referred to as
“The Miracle On the Han River”, as the race starts from Gwanghwamun (the palace) -the very heart of South Korean Capital, passes through the city hall and “Cheong-Gye-Cheon” - the testament of Korea’s modern history, and ends in the Seoul Olympic Stadium where 1988 Summer Olympics was held.

Your star rating and comments count.
Bucket List
Ran It
Seoul International Marathon
Prize Money: $ 450000

Race City Location Map - zoom in · zoom out · big map
displays approximate race location ·

Seoul International Marathon, Race Date: 2024-03-17, Distance: Marathon
Division Time Name Age Home
Male 2:06:08 Jemal Yimer ethi
2nd Male 2:06:09 Rhonzas Lokitam ken
3rd Male 2:06:10 Edwin Kiprop ken
4th Male 2:06:20 Mike Kiptum Boit KEN
Female 2:19:36 Yebrgual Melese ethi
2nd Female 2:20:10 Celestine Chepchirchir ken
3rd Female 2:20:47 Desi Jisa Mokonin bhn
4th Female 2:20:50 Meseret Gola ethi
Division Time Name Age Home
M 40-49 2:23:20 Betelihem Afenigus Yemer ETH
Seoul International Marathon

History of Dong Ah Marathon Fame

3/21/1931 The 1st Marathon Gyeongju (sponsored by the Korea Athletics Association, sponsored by the Dong-A Ilbo Chosun Sports Association)
held 14 miles (23.2km) course between Seoul and Yeongdeungpo

3/21/1933 The 3rd Gwanghwamun ~ Cheongryangri ~ Mangwooli Changed to the 15-mile course of Kyungchun Highway
Yangjunggobo's Son Gi-jeong won 1 hour 24 minutes 03 seconds

3/19/1939 The 10th tournament was changed to
Gwanghwamun ~ Naju tong ~ Seodaemun intersection ~ Penglae bridge ~ Han river bridge ~ Nam Kyungseong station square

1941 ~ 1953 Stopped for 14 years due to repression of Japanese press and war

April 18, 1954 In 1977, the 50th anniversary of the marathon of the Boston Games

Aug. 5, 1955 Delayed by the Liberal Party

April 29, 1964 Performed in full course (42.195km) and renovated by Dong-A Marathon

1965 Lee Myung-jung (KEPCO) 2 hours 21 minutes 21 seconds

3/13/1966 Kim Bok-rae (Coal Corporation) 2 hours 19 minutes 07 seconds Breaking the 20-meter barrier
1970 For the first time, it invited foreign players such as Canada and Japan to develop into international convention
Seoul Playground - changed to flat course of round trip to Uijeongbu
Kim Chihwan (KEPCO) 2 hours 17 minutes 34 seconds
1973 Kim Chihwan (KEPCO) 2 hours 17 minutes 01 seconds
1974 Moon Hong-joo (Konkuk University) 2 hours 16 minutes 15 seconds
1977 Japan's Masuda is the first foreign winner
1978 Han-Do Drug ~ Transition to round-trip course
1979 Girls 'and boys' high school 10km was established.
1980 Korea's first female 30km division won the Eun-joo (Minting & Construction) with 2 hours 02:08
March 28, 1982 Hosted by Seoul International Marathon hosted by KBS
7,466 participants including domestic masters
1983 Changed course to Jamsil Stadium ~ Gyeonggi-do Seongnam City Mental Cultural Institute
1984 Lee Hong-ryeol (Kyunghee University) Breaking down the 15 minute wall of the village and winning 2 hours 14 minutes 59 seconds
1986 Yoo Jae-sung (Korea National University of Fine Arts) 2 hours 14 minutes 06 seconds
1987 Lee Jong-hee (Cheil Jedang) 2 hours 12 minutes 21 seconds
1988 Held at the Olympic course
1990 Kim Wan-ki (Kolon) 2 hours 11 minutes 34 seconds
1991 Hwang Young-joo, 3rd place in full course first challenge
1992 Held at Chuncheon-am Amphitheater
1993 Kim Wan-ki (Kolon) held the best record in the domestic tournament with 2 hours
1994 Changed name to Dong-A International Marathon and 65th Dong-A Marathon
Kim Wan-ki (Kolon) 2 hours 08 minutes 34 seconds
1995 Lee (Cologne) 2 hours 10 minutes 58 seconds to win
the Masters 162 people attend a full course Division
1996 Martin Pizz (Spain) 2 hr 08 min 25 sec.
1997 Masters Full Course, Half Course, 10km, 5km
March 29, 1998 6,931 Masters attended the opening ceremony of Mass Marathon
March 21, 1999 Masters 11,303 players participated in the Korean sports history single event for the first time 10,000 participants
March 19, 2000 Changed the course to Seoul in commemoration of the 80th anniversary of the establishment of Dong-A Ilbo
Revived international convention in three years
March 18, 2001 The women's division was also promoted to the international convention and won with Yunsun Sook 2 hour 32 minutes 09 seconds
Apr. 21, 2002 1st National Marathon Competition and Masters Competition held in Anmyeondo
High school team 13 men, 9 women and 5,690 masters participated
March 17, 2002
Won theWorld Cup successWonrepresentative countries of 32 countries participating marathonersDong-A Seoul International Marathon for the first time in the history of Korean marathon Asahi Japan, foreign broadcasting companies such as China CCTV broadcast
March 16, 2003 3 consecutive broadcasting stations for 2 consecutive years (Korea KBS, China CCTV, Japan TV Tokyo)
September 28, 2003 The marathon race across the country and held at the Baekje Big Gil Masters Competition Princess
March 26, 2004 The 3rd National Marathon
October 10, 2004 2004 Holding the Marathon in Baekje Village
March 12, 2006 Over 20,000 Masters participants in Korea
Oct. 21, 2007 Revived Gyeongju International Marathon
March 21, 2010 Seoul International Marathon held as the only gold label competition in Korea
Oct 8, 2011 Name changed from Baekje Marathon to the Princess Marathon
March 18, 2012 The highest number of domestic marathon tournaments Wilson Roya na Eeroupe (2:05:37)
Oct 7, 2012 Princess marathon 5km (princess course) was newly established.
2013.3.15 Established Seoul Challenge 10K division

  • Start : Seoul Gwanghwamun Square
  • Finish : Jamsil Sports Complex, Olympic Park

Copyright 2024