My BEST Runs Upcoming Races
Yuengling Shamrock Marathon

Sunday March 19th, 2023
Virginia Beach, VA
Distance: Marathon · Half Marathon · 8K · Kids Race
Offical Race Web Site

The Shamrock Marathon was born in 1973. It was the brainchild of Jerry Bocrie, who along with his wife Lori would serve as race director for 30 years. The inaugural marathon had 59 entrants and 38 finishers, and the weekend also featured 1-mile, 2-mile, and 6-mile races. In 1976, the 6-miler gave way to an 8k, which has remained a part of the weekend in one form or another ever since.

The event continued to grow and evolve in the 1980’s. In 1982, the 10th annual Shamrock Marathon was named the Largest Sporting Event in Virginia, and in 1984, the first post race party was added. World class athletes such as Bill Rodgers, Jeff Galloway, and Grete Waitz, all ran one or more Shamrock events, with Grete setting a then world record in the 8k in 1986 (25:03).

Your star rating and comments count.
Bucket List
Ran It
Yuengling Shamrock Marathon

Race City Location Map - zoom in · zoom out · big map
displays approximate race location · Virginia Beach VA 23451

Yuengling Shamrock Marathon, Race Date: 2022-03-20, Distance: Marathon
Division Time Name Age Home
Male 2:25:58 Luke Rovenstine 23 Reading, PA
2nd Male 2:34:58 Alexander Grout 35 Chappaqua, NY
3rd Male 2:39:16 Bobby Beasley 36 Arlington, VA
4th Male 2:40:26 Skyler Lattuca 23 Virginia Beach, VA
Female 2:49:34 Catherine Medvene 32 Washington DC
2nd Female 2:51:25 Anna Balouris 33 Badem. PA
3rd Female 2:56:16 Ellie Clawson 24 Bellevue, WA
4th Female 2:58:06 Sarah Heins 25 Wilmington, DE
Division Time Name Age Home
M 40-49 2:50:26 Eric Makovsky 48 Chesapeake, VA
M 50-59 2:55:00 Thomas Hicks 50 Virginia Beach, VA
M 60-69 3:22:26 Myles Standish 67 Raleigh, NC
M 70+ 3:44:29 James Tierney 72 Franksville, WI
F 40-49 3:15:54 Christle Nie 48 Princeton, NJ
F 50-59 3:25:12 Julie Stallings 53 Fairfax, VA
F 60-69 3:43:19 Suzy Seeley 62 Houston, TX
F 70+ 5:48:32 Roxanne Kaylor 71 Falls Church, VA
Yuengling Shamrock Marathon

Copyright 2023