My BEST Runs Fastest 5k (women)
Armagh 5K

Thursday February 8th, 2024
Armagh, Ireland
Distance: 5K · Women's 3k
Offical Race Web Site

This iconic event now ranked as the best and most popular road race in the world. Runners post some of the fastest times in the world.

This has come about through the incredible in-depth, consistent standard of the Men’s 5K over many years. This has been highlighted by the fact that no other race brings together so many athletes running under 15 minutes – in the 2018 race there were 95 runners who recorded sub-15 times!

The event is organized by Armagh Athletic Club and attracts athletes of the highest elite standards from all over the world – last time out no fewer than 195 of the 264 runners in the Men’s 5k were from outside of Ireland.

Your star rating and comments count.
Bucket List
Ran It
Armagh 5K
Prize Money: $1200

Race City Location Map - zoom in · zoom out · big map
displays approximate race location ·

Armagh 5K, Race Date: 2024-02-08, Distance: 5k
Division Time Name Age Home
Male 13:49 Topi RAITANEN
2nd Male 13:50 James YOUNG
3rd Male 13:50 Alfie MANTHORPE
4th Male 13:51 Vidar JOHANSSSON
Division Time Name Age Home
Armagh 5K

(2019) A record 113 runners break the 15 minute mark in the men’s 5k as 49 women go sub 10 minutes over 3k.

Steph Twell clocked a course record equalling 8:59 to clinch victory in the Intersports women’s 3k race, while Finnish athlete Topi Raitanen ran a blistering 13:43 to break the Brooks men’s 5k course record.

Both athletes took the top honours in an excellent night of racing, but there was lightning fast running across the board at the 29th edition of Armagh International Road Races on Thursday night (February 14).

Following the excitement of the women’s main event, it was time for the men to take to the start line in Armagh.

Following a fast first lap, Poland’s Krystian Zalewski and Scottish duo Adam Craig and Luke Traynor were at the front of the tightly packed lead group at the end of the second lap.

As the race progressed it was anyone’s guess who would take the honours from about a large group that included 2018 champion Sam Stabler, Jonny Mellor, Andrew Heyes and Finland’s Raitanen to name a few.

At the bell for the final lap, it was Mellor, Craig andRaitanen who had a small lead on the rest of the field.

In the final stages, it was the strong finishing Finn who clinched the victory in a course record breaking 13:43 and led home a plethora of personal best performances.

Raitanen’s winning time took 11 seconds off American David Nightingale’s 2009 course record.

Taking the runner-up spot was Craig in a time of 13:45 ahead of defending champion Stabler who was also awarded 13:45.

Copyright 2024