University of Colorado President Bruce D. Benson will be the official starter for the 2019 BolderBOULDER race

Bruce D. Benson and is the longest-serving president in more than half a century.

“We are honored to have one of the University of Colorado’s most accomplished presidents as this year’s official starter,” said BolderBOULDER race director, Cliff Bosley.

“The race has a rich history with CU and our relationship with Bruce and the university is part of the magic of the BOLDERBoulder.”

In 1981, Arnold Weber, the then-President of the University of Colorado, and Athletic Director Eddie Crowder approached race founder Steve Bosley about moving the BOLDERBoulder finish line to the University of Colorado’s Folsom Field.

Since 1981, more than 1.3 million participants of the race have finished in the stadium, fulfilling Dr. Weber’s vision that the race would provide runners and spectators exposure to CU and showcase the state’s flagship university in a way that otherwise would not be possible.

“Almost 40 years since that first meeting with the University of Colorado, it is our honor to have Bruce Benson the President of the University of Colorado to serve as the official starter,” said race founder Steve Bosley.

“It is appropriate that the race is being started by another President whose charge is to lead this University and this legacy of community, dedication and service to and for the University of Colorado.”

posted Friday May 10th