Ethiopians were the big winners at the Lagos City Marathon today

Ethiopians took home 100,000 US dollars each as winners of 2019 Lagos Marathon, 2nd and 3rd take 40,000 and 30,000 dollars. Ethiopians Suntayahu Legese and Dinke Meseret won the 2019 Lagos City Marathon held on Saturday, February 2.

Since the inception of the annual marathon festival no Nigerian has emerged winner. Legese beat all competition to win in a time of 02:17:28. Two Kenyans made the podium in second and third place.

Joshua Kipkorir and William Yegon finished on the podium with 02:21:11 of 02:18:16 and 02:19:04 to pick up huge cash amounts in the competition sanctioned by the governing body IAAF.

For females, Meseret beat all competition to win with clocking 02:48:02. 

In second place was Alemnesh Herepa with a time of 02:49:05 and Kebena Chala in third with a time of 02:49:09.

posted Saturday February 2nd